You are here

PRASAD’S SCALE

This is another scale for calculating the social class and is based on the monthly per capita income of the family. It has five classes (as seen in the Table below).
Table: Dr G. B. Prasad’s Social Classification Scale (1961)

The latest income group can be calculated from the online tool available at: http://prasadscaleupdate.weebly.com/ as explained above after entering the latest CPI-IW.
Therefore the new ranges of per capita income per month for Prasad’s scale based on CPI – IW of November 2017are as shown in the following Table
Table: Recalculated Ranges of Per Capita Income Per Month for Prasad’s Scale (Nov 2017)
Recalculated Ranges of Per Capita Income Per Month for Prasad’s Scale (Nov 2017)
Prasad's scale is can be used for both urban and rural area of the country.

Reference:
• Poornima Tiwari, Shashank Tiwari. Mastering Practicals in Community Medicine, 2nd ed. Lippincott William & Wilkins, New Delhi
• Kuppuswamy's SES Scale for 2018, Online Tool: Available at: http://scaleupdate.weebly.com/real.html ; accessed on 31st January 2018

Modified Kuppuswamy Classification of Socio - Economic Class: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/modified-kuppuswamy-scale
Prasad's Scale: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/prasad%E2%80%99s-scale
Dependency Ratio: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/dependency-ratio
Assessment of Overcrowding in a Household: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/assessment-overcrowding-household
Family and the Types of Family: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/family-and-types-family
Checking for Mosquito Breeding Areas in a Household: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/checking-mosquito-breeding-areas-household
Housefly Breeding Sites: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/checking-fly-breeding-sites-household
Life Cycle of Housefly: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/life-cycle-housefly
Types of Piped Water supply: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/types-piped-water-supply
Reference Indian Adult Man and Woman: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/reference-indian-adult-man-and-woman
Concept of the “Consumption Unit”: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/concept-%E2%80%9Cconsumption-unit%E2%80%9D
Methods of Dietary Survey: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/methods-dietary-survey
24-Hour Recall (Questionnaire) Method: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/24-hour-recall-questionnaire-method
Determination of Socio-economic Status of a Family in a Rural Area (the Uday Pareekh Scale): http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/determination-ses-family-rural-area-uday-pa...
7 Terms used in Maternal and Child Health: Definition and Explanation: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/7-terms-used-maternal-and-child-health-defi...
Terms used in Family Health Study: Definitions and Explanations: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/terms-used-family-health-study-definitions-...

Hindi lecture on CSC taking: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9gvuXrIJ_gY&t=10s
English lecture on CSC taking: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKxXIyJuBz8&t=24s
Format for CSC taking: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/format-clinico-social-case-taking-community...
Geriatric CSC taking: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/geriatric-clinico-social-case-community-med...