You are here

Brief Mention of the National Policies and Programmes for Elderly (≥60 yr.) in India ( As in 2015)

National Policy for Older Persons (NPOP) 1999 and National Policy on Senior Citizens 2011
• National Programme for Health Care of Elderly (NPHCE), 2011
• Relevant Constitutional Provisions

– The right of parents, without any means, to be supported by their children having sufficient means has been recognized
– Provident funds
– Old age pension
National Old Age Pension (NOAP) Scheme,
• Maintenance and Welfare of Parents and Senior Citizens Act, 2007

– Revocation of transfer of property by senior citizens in case of negligence by relatives.
– Maintenance of Parents/senior citizens by children/ relatives made
– Obligatory and justiciable through Tribunals.
– Pension provision for abandonment of senior citizens.
– Adequate medical facilities and security for senior citizens.
– Establishment of Old Age Homes for indigent Senior Citizens
• The Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment focuses on policies and programmes for the elderly in close collaboration with State Governments, NGO’s and Civil Society.
– The programmes aim at their welfare and maintenance especially for indigent elderly, by supporting old age homes, day care centers, mobile medical units etc.
– The International Day of Older Persons is celebrated every year on 1st October
• Help Age India has sponsored the construction and maintenance of old age homes in India.
• The Ministry of Railways provided the following facilities to senior citizens .

-Separate ticket counters for the elderly people at various Passenger Reservation System Centres.
-Provision of Lower Berth Quota – provide in AC and Sleeper Classes.
-Provision of 30 percent discount in all Mails/Express.
-Provision of wheel chairs at stations for the disabled elderly passengers
-Railway grant 75 percent concession to Senior Citizens undergoing major heart/cancer operations from starting station to Hospital station for self and one companion
Ministry of Health and Family Welfare:
• Provision of separate queues for elderly people in governmental hospitals.
• Set up of two National Institutes on Ageing at Delhi and Chennai.
• Provision of Geriatric clinic in several government hospitals
Ministry of Finance:
• Exemption from Income Tax for senior citizens of 60 years and above up to Rs. 2.50 lakh per annum.
• Exemption from Income Tax for senior citizens of 80 years and above up to Rs. 5.00 lakh per annum
• For an individual who pays medical insurance premium for his/her parents or parents who are elderly or senior citizen, deduction of Rs. 20,000 under section 80D is allowed.
• An individual is eligible for a deduction of the amount spent or Rs. 60,000, whichever is less for medical treatment of a dependent elderly or senior citizen.
Insurance Regulatory Development Authority (IRDA) issued some instructions on health insurance for elderly or senior citizens to CEOs of all General Health Insurance Companies
• Several types of insurance schemes for the benefit of elderly people were introduced time to time by several government and private insurance companies

Reference:
Details of Welfare Schemes for the Aged Persons: Press Information Bureau website, Government of India, Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment, 19-March-2015 17:04 IST available at: http://pib.nic.in/newsite/PrintRelease.aspx?relid=117406 accessed on 31st July 2018

Hindi lecture on CSC taking: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9gvuXrIJ_gY&t=10s
English lecture on CSC taking: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKxXIyJuBz8&t=24s
Format for CSC taking: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/format-clinico-social-case-taking-community...
Geriatric CSC taking: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/geriatric-clinico-social-case-community-med...
Modified Kuppuswamy Classification of Socio - Economic Class: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/modified-kuppuswamy-scale
Prasad's Scale: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/prasad%E2%80%99s-scale
Dependency Ratio: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/dependency-ratio
Assessment of Overcrowding in a Household: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/assessment-overcrowding-household
Housefly Breeding Sites: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/checking-fly-breeding-sites-household
Family and the Types of Family: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/family-and-types-family
Checking for Mosquito Breeding Areas in a Household: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/checking-mosquito-breeding-areas-household
Life Cycle of Housefly: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/life-cycle-housefly
Types of Piped Water supply: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/types-piped-water-supply
Reference Indian Adult Man and Woman: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/reference-indian-adult-man-and-woman
Concept of the “Consumption Unit”: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/concept-%E2%80%9Cconsumption-unit%E2%80%9D
Methods of Dietary Survey: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/methods-dietary-survey
24-Hour Recall (Questionnaire) Method: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/24-hour-recall-questionnaire-method
Determination of Socio-economic Status of a Family in a Rural Area (the Uday Pareekh Scale): http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/determination-ses-family-rural-area-uday-pa...
7 Terms used in Maternal and Child Health: Definition and Explanation: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/7-terms-used-maternal-and-child-health-defi...
Terms used in Family Health Study: Definitions and Explanations: http://www.ihatepsm.com/blog/terms-used-family-health-study-definitions-...